Child's Garden of Verse

Foreman, Michael

Format: Hardback
ISBN13: 9781910959107
Published: November 2017

Price: $29.99

Reserve & Collect

Reserve and collect from your local Harry Hartog shop.

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

A Child's Garden of Verses is a collection of poetry for children about childhood, illness, play and solitude by the Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson. The collection first appeared in 1885 under the title Penny Whistles, but has been reprinted many times, often in illustrated versions. It contains about 65 poems including the cherished classics "Foreign Children," "The Lamplighter," "The Land of Counterpane," "Bed in Summer," "My Shadow" and "The Swing."The classical scholar Terrot Reaveley Glover published a translation of the poems into Latin in 1922 under the title Carmina non prius audita de ludis et hortis virginibus puerisqueThis classic children's poetry collection includes the following titles, To Alison Cunningham, Bed in Summer, A Thought, At the Sea-side, Young Night Thought, Whole Duty of Children, Rain, Pirate Story (poem), Foreign Lands, Windy Nights, Travelling, Singing, Looking Forward, A Good PlayWhere Go the Boats?, Auntie's Skirts, The Land of Counterpane, The Land of Nod, and My Shadow, among many others.

  • Format: Hardback
  • ISBN13: 9781910959107
  • Published: November 2017
  • Number of pages: 128
  • Width: 7 mm
  • Height: .67 mm
  • Depth: 9 mm
  • Publisher:not specified


This item is on the shelf at the following Harry Hartog shops. Please contact the shop to hold your copy.

* Availability and price subject to change at any time.